From Dec. 13, 2013- The Butterfly Effect

General definition: “The idea, used in chaos theory*, that a very small difference in the initial state of a physical system can make a significant difference to the state at some later time.” -thefreedictionary.com
“From the theory that a butterfly flapping its wings in one part of the world might ultimately cause a hurricane in another part of the world.”
“…highly sensitive to initial conditions…”
*Chaos: “When the present determines the future, but the approximate present does not approximately determine the future.”
Lots of science, lots of math. Weather patterns…weather problems…this butterfly effect stands for a lot of complex systems. Yet, I can make it stand for a completely different system- of philosophy and personal experience. My glorious friend of mine used this term in a conversation via text recently, and I wasn’t quite sure of the full meaning, other than the one he provided for me, in both English and German: “small cause, big effect” and “kleine ursache grosse wirkung.” He used this simple, yet profound phrase to describe the effect I’m having on his life from all that I’m doing supposedly. I’m continuing to blow him away with everything I do. It’s incredible. Within the last three weeks or so, major transformations have been occurring…not only in him, but within myself as well. In the span of that time, I managed to provoke some inner demons within him, which caused anger, hurt, sadness, anxiety, guilt and shame. More of his past was revealed to me in that time. A lot of turmoil was experienced one day, yet the after effects were much greater, I believe. Along with all of the self-discovery that happened that day, there was a lot of happiness. Pieces from the past were connected to the future and the present– fears that were harbored for years, and ugly images and thoughts that were buried were brought to the surface and faced with immense courage- a courage that is deeply unique and inspiring. My friend was able to clean  it up mostly with my help, guidance and encouragement. To me, it’s still mind-blowing and astounding the effect I’m having on his life. Yet, I couldn’t feel happier or more blessed for the amorous occasion.
This is something that I believe anyone can experience, if they are willing to open themselves up, dig deep and discover hidden secrets that may have held them back for years, they can release the darkness and create more space for that love to flow in. When in a relationship, it’s something that can be good for both people…I believe the discovery, constant challenging conversation, and support, even with the struggles, can bring them closer for a better relationship.
It is possible to be someone’s butterfly, to flap your wings in their life to create a hurricane of change that will last a lifetime.
Leave a Reply

