Holistic Healing

S12185113_10153678412642645_1919510576205171587_oo, it’s been a little over a year that I’ve been helping Dave at holistic expos. I’ll never forget the elation I felt when I began to become involved. This was for a couple reasons, the biggest being that years and years ago when I was still seeing Dave in the tiny post office near my house, he would tell me about doing them. At the time I had no clue what the word “holistic” even meant. “You mean, like holy?” I questioned Dave one day. His reply was to the effect of yeah, kind of- healthy and spiritual healing. Again, even after that, I wasn’t turned on and couldn’t picture what an event was like. Through emails, he’d explain more and then tell me that him and his ex at the time were going to do one. Back then, I never gave much thought. Fast forward to me being more open and receptive to well, pretty much everything. I was going to say, fast forward to be being more open to “new age” things, but, I never gave that term to those things. Sometimes I view that term as derogatory, as most people will typically poke fun at the culture/lifestyle and dub people as “new age hippies”. Anyway, as I became open I was drawn to this world of holistics. Upon moving in with Dave, I realized that I would actually finally get to go to one and not only go there, but help him. Such a dream come true for me; I was melding into his world a big way!

Not knowing what to expect, I was nervous and remember feeling awkward at my first show as I knew no one and Dave was a celebrity; his friends were coming up to him hugging, kissing and chatting with him as if they’d known him their whole life! Of course I was introduced, but I still felt a little out of place. Once adjusted I came to feel the excitement bubble up in me. There were so many diverse people to see and meet! And, they were either selling unique gifts like crystals and gemstones, hippie jewelry, incense and candles, or offering their services of bodywork, card readings, or other psychic abilities. There’s also a wide assortment of healthy, organic foods, teas and other beverages. The list goes on.

Talk about skepticism. Here’s a (at the time) Christian girl in a world of what I had come to believe as Pegan/Wiccan sinners.

Hit the brakes, please.

Initial reactions aside, I was open to all of it and eager to learn about these different kinds of people whom I never knew existed before. Actually, they were people like me! All loving, caring and totally open minded. Over time, I discovered these people weren’t “sinners”, they didn’t “cast spells” and use “magic” and freaky incantations to solve problems and condemn people to some eternal hell on Earth. Instead, they were just ordinary beings with a gift that they were called to share with the world. That’s it. They all had something to offer and offered their skills beautifully.

Every personality was beautiful, too. Extremely positive and strong energy runs rampant through these shows. Now, yes, there are some…”unusuals” there…those that seem to go a little over the top with their skills and proclaim to be a wizard in a barren land, when all they really are is a fake, using hype and design of a clever facade to draw people in. These kind of people are pretty rare, though. It’s not hard to spot them or feel their darker energy. It’s best to avoid them at all costs.

So, back to the beauty- Inner Light Holistic Expo 2015. One year later, and I was now welcomed as Dave was! I felt like the celebrity so to speak! People hollering my name, running over to embrace me in a warm hug, people whose names I inevitably forget because there’s so many! People remembering me from a year prior with my long hair…it felt incredibly heartwarming to be welcomed in such a way! I have a whole new sense of community in places like these. We had done a show a few months prior- actually, THE biggest one of the season and that couldn’t even compare with this one. I’m not sure I could pin down what the difference was, but I can say that the main thing was the people! Not just the vendors around us, but the customers who we’ve grown to know and love. There was a deeper energy that seemed to be pulsating through everyone.

Dave did about 10 massages a day and connected on a more spiritual, even psychic level as he saw struggles in people that were, on a subconscious/energetic level reaching out for help.

Through teary eyes and friction filled hands, he was able to emotionally touch.

While he was busy connecting with those on the chair, I was manning, (womaning) the table with the books, crystals and biofeedback game that we were selling. It was great to converse with the diverse and build up friendships that I never had before. The magnificent part though, is that all of these people that I encountered over the weekend are fully supportive of Dave and I’s relationship! They have not ever seen any issue with us. Instead they sense and see our bright light that shines out to everyone. They are pulled in by it and have no need to blame, assume or prejudge. All love. 🙂

Now, there is one extraordinarily special woman that I am compelled to write about as I talk about holistic shows and their magic. Her name is Julie, and she’s another one that I met one year ago as Dave and I were walking through the MUM (Metaphysical Universal Ministries) expo. Prior to meeting this incomprehensibly beautiful soul, Dave had talked about her and told me about what she did. I found out she was a hypnotherapist and did treatments that were kind of like guided meditations, but the purpose of them was to make you go inside yourself and see something either from your past, a past life, or even in your present that you haven’t seen before. Pure magic, ah! Anyway…upon meeting her, I was immediately drawn in by her appearance- she struck me as the hippie, free-spirited, loving type and had the most amazing magnetic energy. We shared a long hug, smiles and laughs, Dave actually teared up over seeing her because of her special energy. So, it was nice. We  moved on to walk around and about 20 minutes later as I was being bombarded by the sights and sounds of all the vendors, I stopped as if I walked through an apparition. “Her energy is still…clinging to me.” I blurted out. Quickly realizing this was Julie’s energy, I told Dave and then it was love at first sight, and every sight of her after that.

We have connected well and our friendship has become tighter. For this, I couldn’t be more thankful as she has become a woman in my life that I could be on the same level with intellectually, spiritually, yet still look up to as a mentor, a mother figure and a soul guide. There’s something mystical and sacred about her. I’ve often explained to Dave that she is a mirror of him in a female figure.

During this past visit with her, we all spoke of my transformations form the past year. I asked her, “I’m not the same woman you met one year ago, am I?” She shook her head. We later spoke of current situations that Dave and I are struggling through, and with her infinite wisdom, she held our hands and gave us advice on how to overcome, or at least alleviate the hardship. She spoke her wisdom in stern but, loving way. That’s one of her abilities that I love- the ability to be blunt and honest when giving advice. She doesn’t suggest, she commands. But it’s not offensive or harsh.

During Dave and I’s ride home on the last evening of the expo, we discussed what our dear friend had had said and wondered if it was the right thing to do. I wasn’t sure and felt very apprehensive about it, yet at the same time I wanted to listen to her and follow through; I knew it wasn’t going to be that easy. We talked about it so much that we ended up killing some of the energy high that we were on from the entire weekend. That wasn’t Julie’s fault, but ours, and it was just a, (as I’m learning through Dave) a natural cost of the situation that fate is giving us.

What I learned this past weekend was that there is hope, light and goodness in people, in humanity, in those who could be stuck, but aren’t. For me, going to these holistic shows is a complete refreshing breath of fresh air, the coolest drink of the purest water in a desert. My energy is renewed and I am able to see beyond the pain that I occasionally endure while at home with Dave or anywhere else. The friends we meet there aren’t physically close, but are close in heart and mind. The Inner Light show was the last of this season, and holistic shows start up again in spring. There’s a lot more I can say, just about the show in general, but the point of this post was to share my progress and my experience of them. Until the next show, I will hold in my heart my own inner light and I will let it break out of my soul so that everyone I meet can see it, feel it, breathe it and let it be part of them.

There is light and peace in every dark corner of life. It’s not hard to find. All you have to do is believe.

Leave a Reply

