Help Through Hypnotherapy

Slowly subdued and slid down a tranquil trail, I ventured on a journey into my subconscious- that rather mysterious, sleepily overlooked vein of memories and impulses that continuously thrives off of past emotions and experiences. We all know it’s there, but how often do we really want to creep into it, let a crack of light in to expose it, to step through a doorway into ourselves? Most would rather slam the door shut,  hammer heavy nails into thick wood across the threshold. Why go where cozy present life, thoughts, feelings and emotions would be…threatened? Humans typically detest the idea of drastic change, yet somewhere we secretly seek it. We seek it in the deepest REM sleep when our eyelids rattle, and when we are motionless in meditation chanting an endless Om. Waking hours with our brains buzzing a million times per second, halt the seeking of the subconscious and change. Even so, there’s still a way to get there- anytime.

I sunk into an oversized chair which was draped with a coarse fibered, colorful blanket. Closed my eyes. Listened. Delicately, safely becoming hypnotized. Yes, hypnotism was the golden archway to my subconscious smack in the middle of a hot and hazy spring day. Physically, I was enclosed in four walls of love, with soft music floating through the background, a gentle bubbling fountain in the back corner of the room, soft lights surrounding me, illuminating my skin. And her. A beautiful blonde-haired, bright blue-eyed woman who guided me- guided me from guarded reality into subconscious lucidity.

I was on a bench, near a placid pond with green fish. I sat for a bit, listened, received guidance and reassurance then chose a path to walk down. There, I was met with questions- questions I’ve heard before, but never completely answered. Here, in this disconnected yet completely connected state of mind, answers were revealed immediately. They just…came to me as if the universe reached a starry hand down and popped them inside my head. I answered with a low, calm voice that didn’t sound like my own. I was pleased with this and found it tremendously helpful. Throughout the session, more questions were asked, and with some, I almost felt the conscious mind try to stick a foot in the door, but I wouldn’t allow that. Instead, I kept my deep breaths steady and held my peaceful position. I was yearning to finally find a way to break through a wall of mine that I’ve been behind for so terribly long. These questions were the key. My answers, the unlocking of the truth. About halfway through, I hit an epiphany point where my answer to an emotionally difficult question was answered so easily, I wanted to be afraid, throw up the barricade, but…I couldn’t be afraid. Really, it just felt, too easy! Yet, at the same time, it felt perfect. I knew at that moment what I had to do and how. The blockage in my mind was released. It was now up to me to physically, and consciously play it all out. I felt ready.

I returned to the bench, sat, and saw my grandmother. She spoke to me and said that she loved me and was happy with what I was doing with my life. A feeling of deeper serenity washed over me. Then, as she walked away, I prepared myself for the next step in the releasing process. I saw a fire pit where I was to throw my concerns, blockages, resentments, fears. Walking over, I placed them into a bag and with great intention tossed them into the fire. A tremendous plume of black smoke billowed from the pit, higher and higher up it went until it faded to light gray, then finally blended into the great blue. It took a while for it all to go, and once it did, I felt another release, a break in that wall.

That was only my first half of this magical ride. In the beginning I was unaware I would travel down another path, but in the middle, I consented to trying it. What I tried was called a “past life regression”. It’s where you go back to see who you were in another life, when your soul inhabited another’s. This concept was one that I wasn’t initially keen on; my mind couldn’t grasp that you, or the essence of you, your soul, could actually live inside someone else in a different time and place. If that were the case, then that would mean your soul never fully passed on, but would remained trapped in a sense, here on Earth. I believe that you go beyond Earth, beyond a physical body and into a different realm. I’m not sure what that realm is, but I’m sure it’s somewhere safe and happy. Anyway, I’m still, after the experience I had, skeptical about the concept. I’m still happy that I tried it, nonetheless. Here’s what happened:

After choosing a path, I walked through a giant, black, wrought-iron gate and became someone else. I was elderly, probably in my eighties, round with pudgy little fingers that liked to bake. The sweet scent of fresh bread wafted through the tiny country kitchen. A basket of yarn rested on the end of a plush, fabric couch in a vibrant, tranquil sunroom. An unfinished blanket lay across the couch. I wore a floor-length blue, floral print dress that swayed around my ankles when I walked. Apparently, I didn’t have any family or close friends left. In my younger days, I loved to be in the garden, planting vivid yellow flowers along a small road where passerby’s shared copious complements. I died naturally, laying in a bed with a younger lady looking down on me, smiling. She had blue eyes, waist length straight brown hair and a shining smile. (My future self, perhaps?) Then, I left. Walked back through the gate and returned to the pond. There was another path, another past life I could have examined, yet, I felt content and complete with just seeing one for that moment. Mostly likely, I would have been overwhelmed.

The voice, which sounded distant was flowing back to me, and beckoning me to come back into the present time. She counted from five, and with every count, feeling flooded back into my senseless, heavy limbs. At one, I willed my weighted eyelids to arise. Up, up, and they were open. I felt as if I was in a different dimension and returned to Earth. After about 15 minutes, I regained full consciousness and was able to converse normally again, recounting my experience inside myself. I shared exuberantly with my guide and my boyfriend. He had had a hypnotherapy session before and found it extremely beneficial, so it was nice that he could relate to my perception shifting experience.

Now, I want to take what I have gathered, and how I feel and use it in real life. I want to be the change I wish to see and after having gone on a ride into my subconscious, that once frightening place with hidden shadows that turned into a light, I strongly feel that I can carry that out. I feel ready.

Anxious, yes. But ready, yes.

One thought on “Help Through Hypnotherapy

  1. Beautifully written ! I knew Julie could guide you to places from which your conscious mind has blocked you from seeing 🙂 She’s awesome !! An amazing guide and hypnotherapist. You’re amazing too, you know 😉 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

